Parents and Guardians: Please send any notes with your child to the attendance clerk and email any questions to [email protected] to excuse your student from an absence. Phone calls will not be accepted. You may excuse your student up to 15 days every school year. According to school attendance policy 206, in compliance with Florida Statute 1003.24, a parent/guardian must provide a doctor’s verification for all absences beyond 15 days due to illness, to be considered.
The Florida Legislature enacted requirements that schools report to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) the legal name, date of birth, sex, gender, and social security number of minors who attain the age of 14 and accumulate 15 unexcused absences (excluding out-of-school suspension) in a period of 90 calendar days. The legislation further provides that those students who fail to satisfy attendance requirements will be ineligible to maintain or obtain driving privileges.